Categories
America Climate Change Drug Cartels Governor Abbot Gun Stores War

ARMING THE ENEMY

I woke up early this morning to reblog a post about climate change, but my tablet opened on a Word Press page that promoted the following news story. The title below caught my eye — how could it not! Reading the story sent shivers up my spine. The whole of Mexico has only one, yes one, legal gun store, on a military base in Mexico City. Yet Mexico has been the site of over 150,000 gun deaths since 2006, almost all at the hands of well-armed drug cartels. Does this make sense? Where do they get all their weapons from? Illegal gun dealers? Maybe a few. Believe it or not, they actually buy them legally, in the USA!

Draw your own conclusions. To me buying guns legally with drug money should not be possible. But gun dealers in Texas and Arizona, at least, are profiting, legally, on the avails of crime. And Texas, especially, has made it ultra easy for them to do this.

i hope you are as horrified as I am. But I live in Canada, all I can do is report the news. For those living in the USA, maybe you can do more. Please! Write your elected officials. Force Texas, Arizona, and any other states involved in arming the drug cartels to cease and desist. They are directly profitting from the suffering of not only Mexican citizens, but from drug addicts all over the world, and particularly from those living in United States of America!

Where is the justice in that?

By rawgod

A man with a lot of strange experiences in my life. Haven't traveled that much per se, but have lived in a lot of different areas. English is the only language I have mastered, and the older I get, the more of it I lose. Seniorhood gives me more time to self-reflect, but since time seems to go much faster, it feels like I don't have as much time for living as my younger selves did. I believe in spiritual atheism and responsible anarchy. These do not have to be oxymorons. Imagination is an incredible tool. I can imagine a lot of things.

21 replies on “ARMING THE ENEMY”

Even in Canada we feel similar effects. Guns that would otherwise be illegal or difficult to obtain in Canada are being bought in the US and smuggled into the country, and sold on the street.

Of course, as a Canadian, I’m pretty powerless to stop people from buying guns in the US. With tens of thousands of trucks, and over a hundred thousand cars, crossing the border daily, stopping smuggling is a difficult task.

I hear Republican Presidential candidates talk about a “culture of life” in the US. How about they start with their guns, rather than women’s autonomy.

Liked by 1 person

There is a tragic sort of cycle there. The drug cartels buy guns from the USA and take lives and then flood the USA with their product which takes US lives.
A definite cycle of violence.
Also nobody who makes fun of taking cocaine as if it is a nip of whiskey realises wherever it comes from there’s blood in the mix.

Liked by 1 person

Or they don’t take the time to care!
When we were young the LSD I did came from labs, but I could not tell you what kind of people made it. I trusted they were just chemists trying to give us what we wanted, but really I had no idea!

Liked by 1 person

True enough, Sir Roger! There was something in the news the other day about a product with asbestos in it. The asbestos was under some government set limit so therefore it was okay. But it builds up in the body over continued use.
Oh yeah! That product IS our drinking water. 90% of cities and towns in Canada still use asbestos-cement pipes to transport drinking water to our homes because it would cost too much to replace them! Asbestos leeches out of the cement and lodges in our bodies! Everything the federal government says about asbestos is that it is dangerous. So why are municipal governments allowed to use them? I don’t get it!

Liked by 1 person

Our government has allowed Water Companies to accidentally or unfortunately release raw sewage into river and coastal areas.
At the very basis of yours and ours, lies the following:
1. Political Will or badly founded expediency.
2. Lack of attention to the problem
3a. And as I used to explain to new recruits to the civil service ‘Whenever you encounter something odd, you can be sure of drawing a dark red (or black) line to the Dark Lords of H.M.Treasury
3b. Running alongside that is the ever illusion of ‘ The public wants tax cuts’ (ie the public doesn’t realise it will pay for those cuts somewhere along the way)

We’re playing against a stacked deck, but it’s a bigger one that the card sharps realise. Nature holds all the aces.

Like

Because I had never thought about it, I ws surprised. Supposedly legal businesses knowingly taking dirty money to help the Cartels spread their drugs around the world.
Some war on drugs!

Like

True enough. Guns are made to kill. But for me this is like swimming with shark when swimming with dolphins is all you really want to do. If a person or company cannot draw a line somewhere, they should not be alliwed to be in business at all.
If I could have my way gun manufacturers and sellers would both be out of business.

Liked by 1 person

Well, the ones financed by the gun lobbies are out of everybody’s reach, and the rest think the American public wouldn’t stand for any restrictions on gun sales. Yet, as I understand it, surveys consistently show the majority of the American public would support some controls.

Like

That’s what I hear too, but I don’t trust Biden or the Democrats as far as I can spit at them! They seem to me to be dragging their heels on so many fronts, especially indicting Trump for something — ANYTHING! I sense an undercurrent of keeping the status quo. I do not like it!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment